The Book of Chet

by Luciana Souza

  • Digital Album
    Streaming + Download

    Includes unlimited streaming via the free Bandcamp app, plus high-quality download in MP3, FLAC and more.
    Purchasable with gift card

      $9 USD

    You own this


  • Compact Disc (CD) + Digital Album

    CD edition of Luciana Souza "The Book of Chet"

    Includes unlimited streaming of The Book of Chet via the free Bandcamp app, plus high-quality download in MP3, FLAC and more.
    ships out within 4 days
    Purchasable with gift card

      $12.98 USD or more 

    You own this  




1. The Thrill Is Gone
2. Forgetful
3. He Was Too Good To Me
4. I Get Along With You Very Well
5. Oh You Crazy Moon
6. The Touch Of Your Lips
7. The Very Thought Of You
8. I Fall In Love Too Easily
9. I Don't Stand A Ghost Of A Chance With You
10. You Go To My Head

CD Quality - 16 bit / 44.1 khz

The Book of Chet is Luciana Souza’s inspired interpretation of the music of trumpet player and singer Chet Baker. An iconoclastic musical figure, Chet had a unique and lyrical approach to singing – informed by his superb musicianship, his singing was heartfelt, yet detached. “It is a well known fact that musicians like João Gilberto were listening a lot to Chet Baker and the sounds coming out of the West Coast of the US. That kind of quiet, introspective singing was started by Chet while Miles’ playing, tone and sensibility ended up influencing many musicians in Brazil.”

On this recording (Luciana’s first exclusive recording of American standards), Luciana reveals why she has been considered one of the most important Jazz singers of her generation – able to unveil the drama of the lyric and allow for intimacy with the listener, all the while creating an inventive and deeply personal recording. Her collaborators on this collection are West Coast greats Larry Koonse on guitar, David Piltch on bass, and Jay Bellerose on drums. Included on the CD are such unforgettable Baker-associated tracks as “I Fall In Love Too Easily”, “The Thrill Is Gone”, “He Was Too Good To Me” and “Forgetful”.


released August 28, 2012

Luciana Souza - voice
Larry Koonse - guitars
David Piltch - acoustic bass
Jay Bellerosse - drums, percussion
Larry Klein - producer


all rights reserved



Sunnyside Records New York, New York

contact / help

Contact Sunnyside Records

Streaming and
Download help

Redeem code